UConn Alumni

The tradition surrounding the Sarasota Picnic and Reunion is a special one. What started as a small potluck picnic of 20 UConn College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources retired faculty has turned into a large UConn Alumni event, drawing alumni from every School and College. While we are used to gathering in sunny Sarasota, Florida, we unfortunately cannot be together this year due to the pandemic. But that won't stop us from bring you "together" to celebrate and connect with UConn Nation.
These UConn videos were made just for you as a thank you for your continued participation and dedication to the Sarasota Picnic and Reunion over the years. Our longest running UConn Alumni event couldn’t happen without you!
Below you will hear from UConn University and School and College leadership regarding the latest updates on all things UConn. While we won’t be able to enjoy UConn Dairy Bar ice cream this year, we invite you to have your own ice cream social while you watch the video. 
Don’t forget to send us a picture of you and your family enjoying your ice cream and showing your UConn pride so everyone can see that even though we are apart, we are all celebrating this tradition together! 


Click on which school you would to see below to jump to that section

School of Business


Meet Dean John Elliot

John A. Elliott is the Dean of the UConn School of Business, where he holds the Auran J. Fox Chair in Business. He recently served as Interim Provost. Before joining UConn, he was the Dean at the Zicklin School of Business at Baruch College and the Irwin and Arlene Ettinger Professor of Accountancy. Read more.



Meet Dean Indrajeet Chaubey

Dr. Indrajeet Chaubey was appointed Dean of the College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources on March 1, 2019. He also serves as the Director of the Connecticut Cooperative Extension System and the Storrs Experiment Station. Read more.



Meet Dean Juli Wade

Juli Wade joined UConn as Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences in July 2019. She was previously chair of the psychology department and associate provost for faculty and academic staff development at Michigan State University. Read more.



Meet Dean Steven Lepowsky

Dr. Steven M. Lepowsky currently serves as the Dean of the University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine. Prior to his appointment as Dean, Dr. Lepowsky served as Professor and Chair of the Division of General Dentistry and served as Senior Associate Dean for Education and Patient Care for 12 years. Read more.



Meet Dean Kazem Kazerounian

Dr. Kazem Kazerounian joined the Mechanical Engineering Department in 1984 after receiving his B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1980, 1981, and 1984, respectively. Read more.



Meet Dean Anne D'Alleva

Anne D’Alleva joined the University of Connecticut in the fall of 1999 as a joint appointment to Art History and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies.  She has served as a member of the University’s Academic Vision committee as well as chair of the UConn Reads steering committee. Read more.



Accomplishments from Law:

  • Dean Nelson took office in July. Her appointment had been announced in March, after a nationwide search. She came to UConn from the University of South Carolina School of Law, where she has served as associate dean for academic affairs since 2018. She is a graduate of Wake Forest University and Harvard Law School.
  • In August, the law school welcomed an incoming class of 169 JD students, 147 in the Day Division and 22 in the Evening Division, and 40 LLM students, all studying remotely. Twenty-eight percent of the incoming JD students identified as members of underrepresented minorities, a five-year high. The average age was 25 and 10 percent held at least one advanced degree.  

Meet Dean Eboni S. Nelson

Dean Eboni Nelson graduated summa cum laude from Wake Forest University and went on to earn her juris doctor from Harvard Law School, where she served as a contracts teaching assistant to then-professor Elizabeth Warren. 



Meet Dean Bruce Liang

UConn School of Medicine Dean, Dr. Bruce Liang is a nationally recognized Dean of Medicine and an internationally recognized cardiovascular physician scientist.



Meet Dean Deborah Chyun

Deborah Chyun, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN, is Professor and Dean, UConn School of Nursing. Prior to assuming the deanship in January 2018, she was the John W. Rowe Professor in Successful Aging and Executive Vice Dean at the Rory Meyers College of Nursing at New York University (NYU). Read more.



Meet Dean Gladis Kersaint

Dr. Gladis Kersaint is the Vice Provost of Strategic Initiatives at the University of Connecticut. Most recently, she served as dean and professor of mathematics education at UConn’s Neag School of Education from 2016 to 2021. Read more.



Meet Dean Philip Hritcko

Dr. Philip M. Hritcko, Pharm.D., RPh is Dean and Clinical Professor at the University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy. Prior to being named dean in 2020 Dr. Hritcko served as interim dean of the School of Pharmacy. Read more.



Meet Dean Nina Heller

Dr. Nina Rovinelli Heller is Dean, Co-Director of the Doctoral Program, and Zachs Chair in Social Work. Dr. Heller has taught in the MSW and Ph.D. programs in the areas of Individuals, Families & Groups concentration, social work practice and theory and mental health. Read more.



Questions & Additional Information

If you have questions, please contact Erika Glebocki, Associate Director of Alumni Relations, CAHNR via email or Lauren Davies, Assistant Director of Alumni Chapters and Networks via email.